Interview with Adrian Dunbar on his move from acting to direction, 1916/2016, the Gathering and 16 Moore Street…

Posted: June 28, 2013 in Uncategorized

The Cedar Lounge Revolution

…in the Irish Mail, conducted by Jason O’Toole. And as usual in this series of interviews it’s a very interesting one too which touches on an array of subjects close to the hearts of many of us.

Dunbar has now moved into direction, most recently Translations by Brian Friel which opened at the Millennium Forum theatre in Derry, for which he received a standing ovation.

Dunbar first worked with the playwright when he staged an updated version of the classic Philadelphia Here I Come in London’s West End in 2003. ‘I don’t ring him up and ask for feedback on what I’m doing. I report to him and he asks me a few questions, and from those I understand what I should be doing,’ says Dunbar.

Though he admits he directed during the 1980s as well in London. And he’s quite open that:

‘I had put my toe in the…

View original post 1,485 more words

Leave a Reply

