"Is he Brian Friel?"

Posted: July 2, 2013 in Uncategorized

All About The Exposure

Published on studentnews.ie, 25 Oct 2011

NUIG’s Jessica Thompson reviews an event on campus titled ‘An Audience with Brian Friel’.

I arrive at the almost packed Kirwan theatre, with my notepad, pen, recording device, and a bad-ass-journalist attitude, ready for two hours of Brian Friel. I find myself a seat beside a socket, where I can plug in my recorder, ready to pick up absolutely everything that Brian Friel will say, and I sit back and wait for him to arrive.
At approximately 19:10, I turn to my colleague, Ian Colgan, and note that the playwright is ’fashionably late’. It is at 19:15 when someone finally enters the hall, and it is now that I realise I’ve walked into a completely different world – the world of Lit and Deb.
When I say ‘fashionably  late’, I mean it literally. At 19:15, two students walk through the doors wearing…

View original post 699 more words

Leave a Reply

