Call for Papers/ Gairm scoile Symposium: Patrick Pearse and theatre / Pádraig Mac Piarais agus an Amharclann

Posted: August 27, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,
27 Pearse Street (formerly Great Brunswick Str...

27 Pearse Street (formerly Great Brunswick Street), Dublin, the birthplace of Patrick and William Pearse, who were executed for their role in the Easter Rising of 1916. The facade was restored in the 1990s. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

English: Promotional photo from archives of th...

English: Promotional photo from archives of the Abbey Theatre (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

AbbeyPosterOpeningNight

AbbeyPosterOpeningNight (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Kathleen Ni Houlihan Abbey Theatre, 1916

Kathleen Ni Houlihan Abbey Theatre, 1916 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Pearse Street Library

Pearse Street Library (Photo credit: Dublin City Public Libraries)

Portrait of Irish nationalist political activi...

Call for Papers/ Gairm scoile

Symposium: Patrick Pearse and theatre / Pádraig Mac Piarais agus an Amharclann

St Patrick’s College, Dublin City University, 29-30th November 2013

In the years before he became an icon of rebellion Patrick Pearse was obsessed with the theatre. He was the author and producer of plays in both Irish and English and the imaginative force behind pageants that were staged on a truly remarkable scale. Contemporary performances of Pearse’s works attracted large and enthusiastic audiences, while many leading figures from the worlds of culture and politics were involved in the preparation, promotion, and staging of his ambitious scripts. The plays themselves were often allegories for Pearse’s political vision and he drew on the theatrical expertise of his brother Willie and their circle to devise innovative productions that included open air performances as well as stagings in the Abbey and the Irish Theatre.
This symposium seeks to explore this sometimes overlooked dimension to Pearse’s life and work. Papers are invited that discuss Pearse’s plays and his theatrical practice, as well as the wider impact and context (local, national, international) of his engagement with theatre and performance. Papers (20mins) may be presented in English or in Irish (a simultaneous translation service will be provided).

Possible topics could include, but are not limited to:
• Critiques of individual plays
• Pearse as proto-modernist
• Pearse’s dramatisations of classic Irish texts
• Pearse as a theatre critic and theorist
• Pearse’s innovative performance praxis
• Pearse’s engagement with fellow dramatists: e.g. Yeats, Nic Shiubhlaigh, Hyde, O’Grady and Synge.
• Pearse’s interest in European dramatists such as Ibsen and Maeterlinck.
• Pearse and the postcolonial
• The music and song of Pearse’s plays
• Pearse’s involvement with The Theatre of Ireland, the Abbey Theatre and the Irish Theatre.
• The network of key figures in the organisation and staging of Pearse’s plays (MacDonagh, Hobson, Larkin, Willie Pearse, Yeats etc.)
• The role of theatre in the development of Irish nationalism
• Pearse and folk theatre
• Critical reactions and production histories

Please submit a title and 200 word abstract of your proposed paper by Friday 27th September to pearsetheatre@spd.dcu.ie Registration: 25 euro (payable at the symposium)
Organisers: Dr Eugene McNulty is a member of the English Department, St Patrick’s College, DCU
Dr Róisín Ní Ghairbhí is a member of Roinn na Gaeilge, St. Patrick’s College, DCU. 018842304

Thanks to  Brian Ó Conchubhair for letting me know

Dublin City University

Dublin City University (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Comments
  1. Five protective feet are for our own leather bottom of a bag.
    At this point top of specific body portion must be bigger
    than generally lower. If you are unable afford to splurge,
    Forever 21 makes a similar pair for $4.80. Made from black leather, it is wholly handmade.

    http://app.e-mirim.hs.kr/xe/?document_srl=16617

  2. Until the end she managed to create wonderful clothes for female.

    Take a period of time wherever possible into chat with item assistants.
    Post made from crystals are also consuming popularity. As soon as you sit
    down may rest awhile, children, Frstenberg is most popular silhouette common today.
    http://www.dimattinacoffee.com.au/member/453071/

  3. The perfect length will give you a good profile line.
    Therefore, this healthy and natural breeding way
    can produce the best down leather. Mayonnaise jars and jars with slanted shoulder area work best.
    All jackets are quilted and have a full double zipper for added protection.
    http://ikjf.co.kr/xe/?document_srl=133707

  4. Hi would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m planning to start my own blog in the near future but I’m
    having a tough time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your layout seems
    different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

    If you want for you to get more twitter followers,
    you can assist you!
    twitter followers with out giving your own personal password
    as well as pursuing other individuals.
    getting facebook wants, free followers today

  5. Hеya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and
    I in finding It truly useful & it helped me out much. I’m hoping to offer one thiung again
    and aid others like you aided me.

  6. Wοw, superb weblog layout! How lоng hve you been blogging foг?
    you make blogging glance easy. The tottal glance of your website is wonderful, аs neatly as
    the content!

  7. Brock says:

    I’m amazed, I must say. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s both educative and interesting, and without a doubt,
    you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is something
    that not enough folks are speaking intelligently about.
    Now i’m very happy that I found this during my hunt for
    something regarding this.

  8. gokkasten says:

    Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the web the simplest thing to
    be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get irked while people think about worries that they just don’t know about.

    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the
    whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  9. Hi everyone, it’s my first visit at this web page,
    and post is genuinely fruitful in support of me, keep up posting these posts.

  10. Lemuel says:

    Thanks for a marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading
    it, you might be a great author.I will make sure to bookmark
    your blog and will often come back later on.

    I want to encourage that you continue your great job, have a nice morning!

  11. You actually make it appear so easy with your presentation however I find this topic
    to be actually one thing which I believe I
    would never understand. It sort of feels too complicated and extremely
    wide for me. I am looking forward to your subsequent put up, I will attempt to get the cling of it!

  12. This text is worth everyone’s attention. How can I find
    out more?

  13. Having read this I believed it was very enlightening. I appreciate you spending some time and energy to
    put this short article together. I once again find myself spending a lot of time
    both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worth it!

  14. Hello, I enjoy reading through your article post. I like to write a little comment to
    support you.

  15. At this time I am going away to do my breakfast,
    once having my breakfast coming over again
    to read further news.

  16. Makayla says:

    What’s up, everything is going fine here and ofcourse every one
    is sharing facts, that’s really fine, keep up writing.

  17. Usuallу I don’t read article on blogs, however I would like to say that
    this write-up very compelled me to take a look at and do so!
    Your writіng style has been amazed me. Thank уou, very great
    post.

  18. Me and my girlfriend have started offering video testimonials and
    other promotional items on fiverr. Just an hour ago, the USA Today reported
    that Governor Chris Christie intentionally ‘wreaked havoc on the lives Fort Lee citizens’ by narrowing the normally 4-lane entrance to the George Washington Bridge down to a
    only one, snarling traffic and creating chaos for over 4 days this week.
    For five dollars, a housewife could: go grocery shopping for people
    in her area, pick up kids from school, pick up and deliver dry cleaning.

  19. ” Some other developed countries, including Japan, have also been prepared following the Fed or the beginning of quantitative easing. Within the time period from 2007 to 2009 telecom sector showed some unexpectedly better results from telecom industry, which was lowest call rates, cheapest colored cell phones and fastest sale of mobile phones. Plus whilst Apple themselves will happily let you know they were not the first to offer a multi-tasking smartphone, they are comfortable they managed to construct something that will not wipe out your battery pack.

  20. Pamela says:

    Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon everyday.
    It will always be helpful to read through articles from other writers and use
    something from their sites.

  21. Samira says:

    Interesting blog! Is your theme custοm made or did you downlod it from somewhere?

    Α theme like yours with a few simple adjuѕtements
    would really make my blog shine. Please let me know
    wherе you got your theme. Thank you

  22. Agustin says:

    Reading by way of the nice content, will support me
    to do so often.

  23. GHD Hair says:

    I got this web site from my pal who told me concerning this site and at the moment
    this time I am visiting this website and reading
    very informative posts here.

  24. book launch says:

    In the Web 2.0 trend, the nonfiction writers need to
    be active participants in book promotion. Look at this
    list of some WordPress enhancements to entice your visitors
    and increase your fan base.

  25. This is a topic whіch iss nedar to my heart… Take care! Where are your
    contact details though?

  26. For latest news you have to go to see internet and on world-wide-web I
    found this web site as a finest web site for newest updates.

  27. Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you
    been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is great, let alone the content!

  28. If you wish to track your running progress then you have to record your activities
    in the daily running log. I owned one their own first models and found
    the shoe to be rather comfortable.

  29. I appreciate, lead to I found exactly what I was having a look for.
    You have ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man.
    Have a nice day. Bye

  30. Jamey says:

    A person necessarily help to make critically posts I’d
    state. That is the very first time I frequented your web page and
    so far? I amazed with the research you made to create this particular submit amazing.
    Great process!

  31. You should take part in a contest for one of the most useful
    websites on the web. I most certainly will recommend
    this web site!

  32. google.com says:

    ӏf yyou wisҺ for to obtain muchh frokm this paragraph tҺen yoս have to apply such
    techniques to your won website.

  33. Hi there, I log on to your blog on a regular basis.

    Your humoristic style is witty, keep doing what you’re doing!

  34. Wonderful work! That is the kind of information that are supposed to
    be shared around the net. Disgrace on Google for not positioing this post higher!
    Come on over aand visit my website . Thanks =)

  35. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I
    will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently.
    I am quite certain I’ll learn many new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  36. SOCCER says:

    Two by-elections. Two voices. Two ultimata will be said to have been directed at Westminster.

  37. Air Jordan 4 says:

    In the book she shares with readers what her life was like pre-chia. She had a host of severe autoimmune health problems, so when a friend mentioned the health benefits of chia seeds, she decided to give them a try. She writes how within days of starting to use them she felt a renewed stamina. Within months of including the seeds in her daily diet, she says all the symptoms she had suffered were gone.

Leave a Reply

