Dislocation, Disability & Fieldwork

Posted: June 18, 2014 in Uncategorized

PhD(isabled)

Last week I had a tension headache for five days, my forehead so tight with holding my body together and overriding my back and hip pain, it was hard to the touch.

I sat or lay on a bed of cushions to work against a backdrop noise of pop and click as hip joints, knees, fingers and wrists snapped and shifted.

By Friday, I was crying with pain, without really even noticing, while trying to see my word document.

I returned about four months ago from a 20-month research trip to a country with minimal infrastructure, extreme climate and terrible living conditions, and political unrest. I’ve managed projects, led teams, done clandestine investigations into corruption under government radar – I owned a motorbike. God, I was insufferable.

But at the same time, I was taking UK-prescription painkillers from the local unregulated pharmacies. I was spending a lot of time lying…

View original post 635 more words

Leave a Reply

